Crowning Glory! 2022/2023 EXGB British Indoor Electric X Championship Finale – Report, Results and Standings

The 2022/2023 EXGB British Indoor Electric X Championship youth winners were crowned at SX Worx in Sheffield on Saturday in the season finale where the EXGB Auto-E, Mini-E and Oset 12.5 riders were joined by their Revvi Yorkshire Super Cup counterparts in an action-packed day of racing with 120 riders taking part.

The Auto-E class has seen immense racing at all four rounds that preceded this one and the Finale was to be no different with four riders still in with a shout for the title.

The title fight was all set to go down to the A Final but to reach that they had to make sure they were in the top six after three-point scoring heats, and in standard fashion, the four title contenders qualified through to the final with just four points separating them. Teddy Moore topped the standings on 26 points with two wins and a second, his only defeat being at the hands of Albie Wood, who finished on 25pts, the same as series leader Rogue Lewis with Jess Barks on 24.

When it came down to the final though all eyes were on Teddy Moore and Rogue Lewis as a win by either of these would mean the title would be in their hands. Albie Wood went into the final with an outside chance but he would need Jesse Barks to finish second, and nudge his rivals down the pecking order.

In the 8 lap final though Teddy was on fire making a fantastic start, and keeping his cool to keep the hard charging Albie at bay. Jesse would fend off Rogue Lewis third which meant, it would be Teddy who was crowned the champion. Rogue, although very upset to miss out on the number spot, would edge out Albie by a point for second. So Albie was third with Jesse fourth.  Fantastic racing and sportsmanship from these four throughout the series.

The other rider in the A Final was Oliver Wilson who deserves a special mention as although he wasn’t in the title hunt he rode superb all day long to finish fifth.

In the B Final Chad Cooke brought his A Game and took the chequers ahead of the ever-improving Kolbe Red Sole, Arthur Hitchcock had a good day and finished third. Frank Bishop showed good speed in fourth, Willow Birkby improved as the day went on and Dexter Bowers made a promising step up into the class.

A great line up of Mini-E racers, like the Auto-E class fought it out over 3 heat races to see who made the A Final.  Ethan Kentch began where he finished off at Wheeldon by going through the card in the heats and he wasn’t messing around in the final either where he had a great race taking the chequers and the 2022/2023 title with it.  Dexter Bowers was once again his closest rival and went through the heat races unbeaten but Ethan was in fine fettle in the final and try as he might Dexter couldn’t close the gap, finishing an excellent second on the day and in the championship.

The battle for the third spot could have been anyone’s but it was Oscar Rutherford who grabbed the third and final podium spot ahead of Ronnie Seddon in fourth, Teddy Tarr in fifth and Ethan Farley in sixth, with these four riders all making impressive debuts in the series.

In the B Final Lennie Lowe took a great victory over Nina Squirrel, Keyan Parry, Cohen Rogers and Charlotte Cooke.  Keyan courtesy of his great riding throughout the series would be awarded by finishing third in the Championship. Charlotte had the biggest cheer of the day, after she got back on and finished the race after having a mighty big crash. Well done Charlotte and to all of the Mini-E riders for putting on a great show.

Over in the Oset 12.5 class Oliver Fostun had a storming day. It wasn’t without mishap but whatever was thrown his way he conquered it and would win the round with maximum points.  Jonah Bott and had four consistent races with two second and two thirds and that saw him claim the runners up spot on the day.  Behind Jonah and Oliver though the fight for third was hotting up going into the last race with anyone of four riders in with a shout of getting themselves on the box.  In the end though Eden Squirrel had banked enough points to secure the third position edging out Riley Bott by one point who in turn was one point ahead of Charlie Masters, who was a solitary point ahead of Theo Malkin with Oset debutant Cooper Swan seventh.  Awesome racing guys.

The title though would go the way of Austin Roberts who had amassed enough points in the first four rounds to not race in this one, instead focussing on the Revvi Yorkshire Super Cup where he won the Revvi Open 5-6 year old class. Second place was another rider who didn’t make the trip to Sheffield Ellis Gaines while Oliver Fostun rounded out his great weekend by claiming third in the championship.

Julie and Paul at EXGB would like to thank everyone who came and raced with us at Sheffield and Wheeldon, for the families for creating such a supporting and fun atmosphere to our venues Wheeldon Off Road Centre and SX Worx, our sponsors Revvi and Duck Smart, and the team at NORA Motorsport, but our biggest thanks must go to our small and amazing team… it’s not easy putting on these events, with so many races and little riders to organise but they always pull it out the bag and their commitment to our riders and their families never falters…

Keep your eyes peeled for news on the first EXGP Outdoor event in June…

Images courtesy of UK Moto Photo – To see the gallery and to purchase tickets from the event >>CLICK HERE<<



A Final

1st Teddy Moore
2nd Albie Wood
3rd Jesse Barks
4th Rogue Lewis
5th Oliver Wilson

B Final

1st Chad Cooke
2nd Kolbe Red Sole
3rd Arthur Hitchcock
4th Frank Bishop
5th Willow Birkby
6th Dexter Bowers

Final Championship Standings

1stTeddy Moore80
2ndRogue Lewis76
3rdAlbie Wood75
4thJesse Barks70
5thArthur Hitchcock43
6thJackson Bowers34
7thKolbe Red Sole31
8thHugo Roberts28
9thFrank Bishop25
10thJoel Leonard21
11thSamuel Blackler15
12thBlu Bishop12
13thJake Leonard12
14thOliver Wilson12
15thChad Cooke11
16thWillow Birkby7
17thDexter Bowers6
18thSeb Phillips3


A Final

1st Ethan Kentch
2nd Dexter Bowers
3rd Oscar Rutherford
4th Ronnie Seddon
5th Teddy Tarr
6th Ethan Farley

B Final

1st Lennie Lowe
2nd Nina Squirrel
3rd Keyan Parry
4th Cohen Rogers
5th Charlotte Cooke

Final Championship Standings

1stEthan Kentch82
2ndDexter Bowers71
3rdKeyan Parry43
4thLevison Usher34
5thBlue Bishop34
6thGeorge Hutchings32
7thNina Squirrel31
8thLennie Lowe27
9thCharlotte Cooke26
10thTommy Scammell25
11thToby Wilson24
12thArchie Gomes23
13thNancy Good20
14thToby Falloon17
15thOscar Rutherford14
16thRonnie Seddon13
17thTeddy Tarr12
18thEthan Farley11
19thCohen Rogers7

Oset 12.5 – Over Four point scoring races

1st Oliver Fostun 36pts
2nd Jonah Bott 30pts
3rd Eden Squirrel 24pts
4th Riley Bott 23pts
5th Charlie Masters 22pts
6th Theo Malkin 21pts
7th Cooper Swan 12pts

Final Championship Standings

1stAustin Roberts70
2ndEllis Gaines60
3rdOliver Fostun44
4thEden Squirrel35
5thLouis Good32
6thArchie Pearce30
7thLogan Thornton27
8thJonah Bott16
9thCharlie Masters14
10thRiley Bott13
11thOllie Scibilia12
12thTheo Malkin11
13thCooper Swan10

Share this story